Farewell Liverpool

“Are you happy to have left Liverpool?” – This question stumps me every time. And even when writing this, I don’t know how to respond. Liverpool became my home for five years. I spent more time there then I did anywhere in the world over those years, and so for nearly a fifth of my life, I became an ‘honorary scouser’ and I loved every second!

Moving to Liverpool was one of the biggest, scariest and best (although I didn’t know it at the time), decisions of my life. I remember telling my family that’s where I wanted to go to university and all their faces were dumbstruck. No one could quite comprehend why Liverpool was my top choice. Following on, my friends were also very dubious about how I would cope in a big city. One day, I was in the bank cashing in some money, and one of my friends said: “You won’t be able to leave your cash out like that once you’re in Liverpool”. Liverpool just seemed a world away to what we were used to in our little island of Jersey. And now five years on, my family come on yearly trips to Liverpool, and my friends jump on a plane at any opportunity because they fell in love with the city just like I did.

As with anyone’s university experiences, they came with their highs and lows. Liverpool Hope University was the smallest of all Liverpool uni’s but I think maybe that worked in our favour, for at least myself it did. I got to know everybody on my course on a personal level along with the tutors as well. We weren’t just a number which I heard was common in many other universities but rather the tutors were able to assist all students individually. Although, knowing everyone also came with a lot of drama! It felt like Liverpool Hope was like a mini Jersey in the middle of Liverpool! Everyone knew everything about each other. There were no hiding spaces or places to getaway. Yet I do think that made my transition to a busy city all the easier. I made some amazing friends through all my studies, who will always have a special place in my heart. Following on from graduating, I went to the Acadamy of Live and Recorded Arts. During this year, I met some fabulous people, worked on some challenging pieces, and left feeling more confident in my abilities. I haven’t given up on my aim to do a Masters at a drama school and to be successful in the industry. But for now, it’s time to focus on gaining some more life experience.

Along with my studies, I have had my fair share of jobs when living in Liverpool. From promo to bar work, to retail and finally a job within the industry. I can honestly say that through every job I have met the most amazing, beautiful, caring souls, who were the main reason I stayed in Liverpool for so long. They kept me grounded, comforted me when I was struggling and ultimately became my family. When moving on from jobs I never lost contact with these special people, and they are the reason I can’t say I’m happy to leave Liverpool. For selfish reasons, I hope when I do get round to returning to Liverpool they will all still be there so we can be reunited once again!

Not only did Liverpool offer me experiences within the city, but it also allowed me to travel. The inspiration from meeting new people spurred me to take time to getaway. And so I had two of the best, most memorable trips when living in Liverpool. The first being Camp America. Friends who I met in Liverpool, influenced me to take the plunge myself. And I am so happy I did. I met an awesome group of people who I am still in regular contact with, and who I know I will continuously meet up with because all of us are up for a road trip. No matter where in the world we all are. Funnily enough, one of the girls I met and became best friends with at Camp America lives in Liverpool! She and her family pretty much adopted me into their home and made my time in Liverpool even more special. The second trip was when I went on a road trip from Central America to Mexico. With my best friend from Liverpool, we embarked on our three-week trip and again met some exceptional people, with one girl, studying in Liverpool. Not only was I making friends in the city but even when I was on the other side of the world there was always an honorary/ scouser around!

So that is my Liverpool experience summed up in a nutshell and why I can’t say “I’m happy to leave Liverpool.” I know, as many people have reassured me, I am on to bigger and better things. But it still doesn’t lessen the blow, that when I return to Liverpool everything could be different. People’s lives don’t just stand still because I’m not there. And although I am happy to be home, being with family, and not spending the majority of my paycheck on rent. It is still a very bittersweet pill to swallow. Liverpool is the most spectacular city, and one I would recommend for everyone to visit. From its nightlife and restaurants to the culture and of course all its history. There is something there for everyone. I am proud to say that I am an honorary scouser. I will continue to use the sayings I picked up over there like “Swilled”, “Knock me sick”, and “Cob on.” And I will forever consider Liverpool my home away from home. I can proudly say I left Jersey as a Chelsea fan and came home a true Liverpool supporter. In the words of Richard Rodgers “Walk on, walk on, With hope in your heart, And you’ll never walk alone, You’ll never walk alone.”

Have courage and be kind.

3 thoughts on “Farewell Liverpool

Add yours

  1. Boss little read that Jersey girl, all the best and good luck with this new adventure/chapter in your life…..always here for a message 🤗 stay safe (dont knock that haematoma) 😀

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started